2021 Symposium on Intercultural Digital Ethics

Date: 

Thursday, November 4, 2021, 9:00am to 1:00pm

Location: 

Virtual Event (Registration Required)

Recent advances in the capability of digital information technologies—particularly due to advances in artificial intelligence—have invigorated the debate on the ethical issues surrounding their use. However, this debate has often been dominated by ‘Western’ ethical perspectives, values and interests, to the exclusion of broader ethical and socio-cultural perspectives. Against this backdrop, the 2021 Symposium on Intercultural Digital Ethics will bring together a range of cultural, social and structural perspectives on the ethical issues relating to digital information technologies, with the aim of broadening the approach of digital and AI ethics. The symposium will be hosted virtually by the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy on November 3 and 4. Information on how to register can be found below. 

The 2021 Symposium on Intercultural Digital Ethics is organized by Nikita Aggarwal, Carr Center Fellow.

Wednesday, November 3rd, 2021, 9:00am -1:00pm EDT, 1:00 - 5:00 PM GMT, 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM CET:

  • Opening Remarks - Nikita Aggarwal (Oxford/Harvard) 9:00 - 9:10 AM EDT, 1:00 - 1:10 PM GMT, 2:00 - 2:10 PM CET   
  • Keynote - Intercultural Digital Ethics: Backgrounds, Concepts, Current Moments, Future Directions | Charles Ess (Oslo) 9:10 - 9:40 AM EDT, 1:10-1:40 PM GMT, 2:10 - 2:40 PM CET

Panel 1 - Decolonizing AI  |  Shakir Mohamed (Moderator) | DeepMind |  9:40 - 11:00 AM EDT, 1:40 - 3:00 PM GMT, 2:40 - 4:00 PM CET 

  • William Barylo (Warwick) – “Abusive algorithms: when ‘suggested content’ becomes colonial whiteness”
  • Catriona Gray (Bath) – “Towards a post-abyssal digital ethics”
  • Julia D’Agostini (UFMG) – “Censorship, history and cultural diversity: content moderation and its challenges”
  • Mishall Ahmed (York) – “AI at the Border: the differential impacts of AI technologies on refugees and asylum seekers” 

Break | 11:00 - 11:15 AM EDT, 3:00 - 3:15 PM GMT, 4:00 - 4:15 PM CET

Panel 2 - Beyond Autonomy, Beyond Harm | Shannon Vallor (Moderator) | Edinburgh  | 11:15 AM - 12:45 PM EDT, 3:15- 4:45 PM GMT, 4:15 - 5:45 PM CET 

  • Matthew Dennis (TU/Eindhoven) – “Living well together online: digital wellbeing from a Confucian perspective”
  • Bryce Goodman (Oxford) – “Privacy without Persons”
  • Maximillian Gartner (Bologna) – “Intercultural Differences in Autonomy Perception and Technological Persuasion Envelopes”
  • Marianna Ganapini (Union College) – “Beyond Harm: an ethical framework to tackle misinformation on social media”
  • Yannick Vogel (Turin) – “Recalibrating the data economy - towards a system of fair and equitable benefit sharing of data products”

Day 1 Closing Remarks — Mathias Risse, Faculty Director, Carr Center for Human Rights Policy 12:45 - 1:00 PM EDT,  4:45 PM- 5:00 PM GMT, 5:45 PM- 6:00 PM CET

Thursday, November 4th, 2021, 9:00am -1:00pm EDT, 1:00 - 5:00 PM GMT, 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM CET:

WelcomeNikita Aggarwal (Oxford/Harvard) | 9:00 - 9:05 AM EDT, 1:00 - 1:05 PM GMT, 2:00 - 2:05 PM CET

Panel 3 - Governing AI: Local v Global |  Charles Ess (Moderator) | Cambridge | 9:05 - 10:30 AM EDT, 1:05 PM - 2:30 PM GMT, 2:05 - 3:30 PM CET

  • Soraj Hongladarom (Chulalongkorn) – “Non-Western AI ethics guidelines - implications for intercultural ethics of technology”
  • Rosanna Fanni (CEPS/Brookings) – “Transatlantic norm cohesion and collision in AI governance”
  • Pavlina Pavlova (OSCE) – “Addressing the security risks of anti-Roma hate speech on social media platforms”
  • Davide M. Parrilli (UNIDCOM-IADE) – “Designing a universal framework for privacy: challenges and obstacles”

Break | 10:30 - 10:45 AM EDT, 2:30 - 2:45 PM GMT, 3:30 - 3:45 CET

Panel 4 – Applying Intercultural Digital Ethics | Pak-Hang Wong (Moderator) | H&M Group | 10:45 AM - 12:15 PM EDT, 2:45 PM- 4:15 PM GMT, 3:45 PM - 5:15 PM CET

  • Caroline Khene (De Montfort) – “Narratives in Responsible Digital Citizen Engagement in Adolescent Sexual Reproductive Health Rights in a Southern African Context”
  • Yishu Mao (MPIWG Berlin) – “AI ethics made in China: expectations and practices from the tech industry”
  • Rohan Light (For Humanity) – “Raising the ethical voice of the periphery in the construction of AI ethical frameworks”
  • Remy Hellstern (British Columbia) – “Leveraging Blockchain-Based Archival Solutions for Sensitive Documentation: A Xinjiang Case Study”
  • Mark Dempsey (Hertie School) - "The Brussels Effect of the GDPR: The Impact of EU Data Privacy Regulation in Africa with a special reference to Kenya"

Day 2 Closing Remarks — Sushma Raman, Executive Director, Carr Center for Human Rights Policy | 12:15- 12:30 pm EDT, 4:15 PM - 4:30 PM GMT, 5:15 - 5:30 PM CET 

Call for papers for a special issue of Digital Society on intercultural digital ethics. Opens 15 November 2022. Further information here: https://link.springer.com/collections/icbddaheci

Virtual Event Details
This event will be livestreamed on YouTube Live. Attendees registered for this event (link below) will receive a link for the livestream 1 hour before the event where you can participate in the live chat and ask questions during the event.

Registration Closed